County officials to be installed Jan. 9



Fridley reported Wednesday that the ceremony will take place at 9 a.m., at the beginning of the Jan. 9 supervisors’ meeting.

Supervisor Anthony Farrington will give the oath of office to Pam Cochrane, the county’s clerk/auditor-controller, who will then administer the oath to District 2 Supervisor Jeff Smith, District 3 Supervisor Denise Rushing, Assessor/Recorder Doug Wacker and Tax Collector/Treasurer Sandra Kacharos.

Jon Hopkins, the county’s new district attorney, will take his oath of office in a special ceremony at 5 p.m. today, Friday, Dec. 29, in the courtroom at the old Courthouse Museum. Fridley said she’s uncertain if Hopkins can make the Jan. 9 ceremony due to a court date.

Sheriff Rod Mitchell said Thursday he will not be at the ceremony because he'll be out of town that week.

E-mail Elizabeth Larson at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..